Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Vacation

2006-01-28
"All I ever wanted,
Vacation,
Got to get away!" (The GoGos)

Well, I've been on vacation this week. Probably should have said something earlier, because, of course, I'm behind on everything again.

And we didn't get away.

We've been right here, being blissfully lazy. We're going on a big trip in June and we didn't feel like we could spend the money, so we just stayed here and read and played games and watched DVDs and I untangled many sudoku puzzles and we built a cube grid and coroplast cage for the piggies.

It's been great.

I didn't realize how exhausted I was. Well, actually, I think I did. And I knew I needed a vacation. And now I'm feeling truly rejuvenated. It's good.

We're going to go out and enjoy the unseasonable weather in a little bit and then watch a movie. I'm making that bacon-cheeseburger meatloaf that I wrote about awhile ago. I've been cooking, but only things I want to, as I want to.

And I unplugged from the computer for the most part. It was necessary.

But I'm getting ready to re-enter the world.

And I think it's good to be back.

Maybe.

What's Cooking?


Said turkey bacon cheeseburger meatloaf. I'm going to take ground turkey breast and mix it with chunks of lowfat cheddar and strips of cooked, dry rubbed bacon with the requisite eggs and oat bran instead of the bread crumbs. Then I'm going to bake it with bacon strips on top. I'm making baked sweet potatoes, too, and some caprese salad. Fantasy Boy will probably have a half twice-baked regular potato, since he hates sweet potatoes. And I think I'm making strawberry shortcake for dessert. Yum.
11:34 a.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next