Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

When in Doubt, Just Add a Little Cheese

2006-09-10
That's my new motto.

It works in cooking. At least with my family. I had some actual time with my husband this weekend, while Fantasy Boy was happily off at a Boyscout Camporee where he learned about the War of 1812 and played many, many games of Magic The Gathering.

So, my husband and I spent a lovely weekend relaxing, watching movies (Hollywoodland and The Illusionist) and eating good food. We had 4 meals together before Fantasy Boy returned. All but one involved cheese, and two were almost all cheese (with a jug of wine, a loaf of bread and...) Oh, and chocolate.

And tonight I didn't know what to make, so I threw veggies and pasta together and, of course, added cheese. And with the cheese, everyone would eat it.

There's other cheese in my life.

We tell cheesy jokes around the table.

When his dad or I do something he considers especially stupid (ie. we're being his doddering old parents), Fantasy Boy tells us we're cheesy.

During political discussions about the current administration and various issues within local politics, the phrase "cheesy behavior" comes up frequently.

When I write a scene I don't like, it's cheesy.

When I teach a lesson Fantasy Boy doesn't like, that's cheesy.

So, it seems to me, we all need a little cheese in our lives.

(What a cheesy ending!)

7:24 p.m. :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next