Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Booking Geography

2006-08-30
Charity, in Writing Wrongs used a meme from another blog: Booking Through Thursday

I used the same blog, but chose a different meme. For all you readers out there - it's a fun site!

Have you ever wanted to travel to a place described in a book?

I was desperate to travel to Greece after reading The Magus by John Fowles. His descriptions of the light and the geography gave me the feeling that I'd never be a writer unless I went to Greece. Maybe he was right. I haven't been to Greece and I'm still only a sort-of writer.

Have you ever ACTUALLY travelled to a place because of the way it was described in a book?

Well, in a manner of speaking. I loved Russian literature and I was dying to travel to Russia. And I did. I still want to go to Montreal after reading the Kathy Reichs books.

And if so, did it live up to the expectations, feelings, emotions you expected from the book? Did you feel like Anne was going to come romping around the corner of Green Gables? Was it as if Jo was upstairs at Orchard House, scribbling on a story? Or was it just a museum, or just a city street? Like Abbey Road without the Beatles?

Oh, Russia did not disappoint. I was in Moscow and in the South - in the areas surrounding Krasnodar and the Sea of Azov. And it is a big, messy, complex country with darkness and rich smells and sweet and heavy foods and large grandmas and both dashing and dumpy men and delicate beauties. Just like the books. But I believe, from what I hear these days, that it's all different now.

What's Cooking

Panzanella, I think. Or that Italian soup with fresh tomatoes and bread that Rachael Ray plays up all the time... someting with tomatoes. Something with corn. It's the bounty time of the summer and I've a box of farm-fresh veggies to turn into end-of-summer suppers.

4:03 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next