Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

The Holidays

2005-12-14
We recently saw Christmas with the Kranks. It's a not-great movie about a couple who tries to completely ignore Christmas for a year so they can have enough money to go on a luxury cruise instead, because their daughter is down in the Amazon Rain Forest doing Peace Corps work.

And at the end, they find the Spirit of Christmas.

I'd like to find it, too.

It's not in the religious sense. For one thing, I'm not Christian, and for another, I'm pretty darned secular.

But I live in what is mostly a Christian society, all "Happy Holidays" aside, and since our culture is preoccupied with Christmas, it's unavoidable. In both good and bad ways.

But we seem to be more preoccupied with shopping, decorating and STRESSING.

In my mind, the Spirit of Christmas should be about family, warm evenings with cocoa around a fire, and helping others. Maybe nibbling on a Christmas cookie or two.

Instead, DH and I got into a major fight last night because he got styrofoam hot cups instead of paper hot cups for a holiday party that Fantasy Boy and I have to attend today. Okay, so maybe I haven't gotten rid of all my perfectionist tendencies. It was the environmental issues, the taste issues, etc. And I have one more thing to do today. And then my reading lamp didn't work and I went over the edge.

So much for warm family scenes by the fire.

Fantasy Boy heard us arguing and got understandably upset. And he asked why everyone seems to be so strung out during the Holidays.

Which was what I used to ask every year as a kid, too.

And the worst part is, I really don't do that much around the Holidays, so I can only imagine what would happen if I did try to take all that Norman Rockwell stuff on.

So, cheers to all of you who can handle the rigors of the season with grace and ease. And a big slug of whiskey, tequila or your alcohol of choice to those of us who don't.

What's Cooking


Okay, so my last "solution" to the recipe thing didn't work, but now I really have figured it out. Truly. So a holiday gift to myself is going to be to set up that recipe site. Today, though, my exciting menu consists of turkey-cheddar-bacon burgers and baked squash.
7:18 a.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next