Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Doodling

2005-12-10
It's 4:03 p.m. I'm still under the weather and the boys are out sledding. There are many, many, many things to do:

1. Cleaning out kitchen cabinets to give to the giant Food Gatherers food drive, which ends tomorrow.

2. LAUNDRY

3. House clean up in general

4. Bills

5. My "real" writing (why is that listed last?)

Does it get anymore exciting than this?

This is my one weekend of total freedom until the trip to NYC on the 26th. DH may be off to his family next weekend to see an old family friend who's become desperately ill. Fantasy Boy has many activities next weekend. The following weekend is Christmas/Hanukkah and then the next morning we leave at 4:30 a.m. for the airport and NYC.

I'm still picking up the pieces from this past, silly week. I have a cooktop again, my thumb is basically in one piece, the glass is all gone from the various surfaces of the kitchen, my DH is back HOME.

But all I wanna do is... nothing.

My eyes feel glazed and my throat feels sticky, as if it has some sweetish coating. I don't wanna cook and I don't wanna go out tonight. All I want to do is hold a guinea pig and nod off.

Ugh.

Is it spring yet?

What's Cooking


I haven't the slightest idea. I do want to suggest some good books, though. I find I'm really enjoying both Rachael Ray's Gettogethers (her spelling, not mine) and her 365 No Repeats. I've also loved The Vegetarian Hearth by Darra Goldstein (she's a GORGEOUS food writer - read anything by her!). I took a huge variety of classic cooking books out of the library and had fun perusing them. I'd highly recommend that for anyone who loves cooking - you really get to see the tricks of that person's trade as you read their books over and over. Happy Saturday.
4:03 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next