Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Into the Abyss?

2005-12-16
Boy, I'm having a weird month.

The arthritis/EDS/RA whatever it is, is back. And of course, the timing is impeccable.

But when is it convenient to have no energy, constant chills, and chronic, if not overwhelming, pain throughout your body?

It just isn't.

And I see other people I know with these disorders. And some of them are in wheelchairs now. And they tell stories of being perfectly normal just a couple of years ago.

And I wonder if that will be me.

And I know it might not be, so I try to hold on to that.

But there are some days, when I just feel like I'm stepping into slush, and the slush turns into a puddle turns into a pond of mud and I'm sinking and sinking.

And those are hard days.

But today I can do just about anything I choose to, and the worst part is the pain. But it's not horrible pain. So, I'm going to be busy.

And that's a good day.

And I'm just going to try to keep having the good days.

What's Cooking


Chicken Paprikash over egg noodles and monkey herb bread. YUM! I want to bake cookies, too, but I'm trying to resist. We'll see. I love my slow cooker.
8:18 a.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next