Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Sounds and Smells

2005-11-12
Today would be a really boring day. DH and DS are off on a camping trip and I am trying to catch up on a million mundane chores.

Two things that are really helping are smells and music. The smells are things I'm cooking - catching up on or preparing for tonight, when I get a break from all this and have a "Girl's Night In" with my friend Shawn and we'll have a steak dinner and watch Gone With The Wind or Shultze Gets the Blues - we'll see.

Anyway, the house is filled with smells of garlic and chocolate, two of my faves, and the air is filled with Bare Naked Ladies, Dixie Chicks, U2, etc.

What are some of your favorite sounds or smells? Here are some of mine:

Smells:
garlic
chocolate
chocolate chip cookies baking
bread baking
turkey roasting on Thanksgiving
freshly cut grass
biotherm's citrus moisturizer
the smells of the people I love (well, one I hug them - not necessarily all their smells!)
fresh basil
tomato sauce while it's cooking

Sounds:
pretty much anything by U2 or Bare Naked Ladies
Loreena McKennitt
Dave Matthews Band's earlier stuff
a lot of Mozart
some Puccini
some of Dixie Chicks
some Pink
some REM
some Nancy Griffiths
Yves Montand
many Putumayo World Music collections - especially those of the Mediterranean and Africa
the salsa music that used to blare through my neighborhood
Alicia Svigals
and on and on...

What's Cooking


Seared steak, garlic bread and tossed salad with chocolate custard for dessert. I also planned the Thanksgiving menu today, but that's for another post.
2:55 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next