Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Germs

2005-11-14
What is it with children that they feel they need to pass every little cold and sniffle on to their parents?

And the worst part is, they usually get over it in 24 hours or so, whereas in the adult body it lingers, enjoying the residency of older and softer cushions.

I'm sitting here, aching all over, while C lies on his bed in his room next to this one, coughing every 11.9 seconds and playing with his bionicles.

We were all about getting lots and lots and lots of things done this week. I want to tie up some major lessons with C., and my mother is arriving Friday. My German daughter's best friend, A., who's become another of my surrogate daughters, is also arriving on Thursday and will be in and out. This is marvelous, because she's always, always a delight! My Armenian daughter, H., arrives next Monday. In fact, by this time next Monday, we will be seeing her again for the first time in two years. I'm VERY excited.

So all these people I love are descending and I get to have them around for a whole week, and since everyone is arriving in staggers, we get to have almost two weeks of fun.

Which is why I have a lot to get done.

But here's what I did get done: nothing.

So, I think I'm going to make some tea and go to bed.

Tomorrow is another day.

And nothing's cooking.

7:08 p.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next