Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Serious Fall

2005-11-16
This is serious Fall.

The kind of blustery wind, knocking the stuffing out of your house, shaking-the-windows-rattling-doors-whistling-through-the-eaves kind of Fall.

I'm in my house, warm and toasty, and still trying to kick this nasty cold, while trying to catch up on the million things that I've fallen behind on. DS has a better idea and is not budging from the couch where he's nestled with favorite re-reads and a comforter.

I wonder what kind of spring day is taking place in Australia, and if I could just stow away on a jet there? Or Brazil might be nice. I've always wanted to see Brazil.

But for now, I'm just cooking sweet potatoes, letting the oven and the slightly spicy smell try to take me out of my rattling house.

And trying to make my environment look clean and welcoming, rather than messy and just plain cold.

Our dear ones start arriving tomorrow and Friday, even though A won't care what state the house is in, and she's the first arrival.

And writing. I've got to get to writing.

What's Cooking


Sweet potatoes, obviously. I don't know what I'm going to do with them, yet, but these were two left over from my CSA farm share and they must weigh 2 - 3 lbs. a piece, so I decided that I'd roast them first. And I'll make another batch of ginger scented butternut squash and apple soup. And something for dinner. I hate colds. I'm not getting in enough cooking, writing or exercise. Whine, whine, maybe have some wine.
11:49 a.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next