Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

The Problem with Clean Houses

2005-11-17
Here's why my house will never be clean:

We live in it.

When there are so many other interesting things to do in this life, scrubbing toilets and picking up after boys are just not among them.

Now don't get me wrong. I like a clean house. I like the tranquility of uncluttered surfaces and that just-cleaned-floor smell. It's the futility that gets to me. Because no matter what I do to tame my environment, someone will come along to untame it just after.

And don't get me wrong here. I really don't care that much. It's just those times that I'm going to have lots and lots of company and some of that company may care that I get obsessive. So, it becomes rather a waste of emotional energy and keeps me from the real things in life, like writing and cooking.

So, I've washed down the windows, done the vacuuming and didn't quite make it to the myriad other things that were on my list for today (folks start arriving tomorrow), but there are fresh flowers in the guest room, I'm getting to write now, and the Gang will be over shortly.

So the heck with cleanliness - I'll find my godliness (such as it is) in cooking.

What's Cooking


Butternut squash ravioli tossed with spinach, mixed mushrooms and pine nuts, mixed salad with oil and vinegar, cranberry pecan bread and raspberry torte for dessert. Lots of cooking to look forward to over the next week!
4:10 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next