Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Routines

2006-01-09
A new routine.

I'm getting up at six and before I peak at the e-mail, before I do my dance tapes, before I breathe I'm going to add in my 250 words to Changeling.

Two days and it's working. Thanks to Charity Tahmase, my writing buddy extraordinaire who keeps the writers journal, Writing Wrongs here at ctahmase.diaryland.com. Charity's been doing this for some time, and I, who can find so many excuses not to sit down at my desk for some ME time with my characters, realized that I can do 250 words per day. Just like I can do 30 - 45 minutes of exercise per day. And do 15 minutes of clean up blitzes. I have no discipline, but I can do anything for short spurts, right?

I have been stuck at the same darned spot in Changeling for longer than I want to even think about, and yet, with the magic 250, I wrote myself out of it in the last two days. Now, I'm sure it helped that I gave it almost two months of incubation time, lol. But still.

So this year has to be about routines. These little routines are going to be the only glue I can use, because, after all, I'm a woman in my forties with kids and we're the great multi-taskers, right? We can leap tall mountains in the 5 minutes we squeeze in here and there between everyone else's needs.

But, by golly, if it's 15 minutes, that's better than no minutes.

I may even get some cooking and sudoku in (more on sudoku in a later entry). Ain't life grand?

BTW, it was so lovely to get so many comments yesterday! I really felt welcomed back. I'm catching up on entire diaries at once, so if you receive umpteen messages from me in a short period of time, I'm really not a stalker, just seeing what your life has been like over the past two weeks. Happy New Year!

What's Cooking


Well, I didn't make the chili and cornbread yesterday, so that's for tonight's dinner. I'm also making apple oat bran muffins today. Last night, however, I made a great, clean-out-the-cabinets dinner - made meatballs of ground turkey, parmesan, egg, oatbran (yes, I know, but it made them tender), and roasted them with a drizzle of olive oil in the oven. Then I tossed them with pasta sauce, peas, pappardelle and lots of pepper. It's a keeper.
6:25 a.m. :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next