Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

It's Wanting What You've Got

2006-01-10
I'm not that big a fan of Sheryl Crow.

It's not her music, particularly. I like some of her songs, and particularly, some of her lyrics.

Maybe she looks too darned good. Especially for her age. Which is basically my age. And I sure as hell don't look that good.

I don't think it's jealousy over Lance Armstrong. While I admire his accomplishments and his Live Strong campaign, I'm not such a fan of his, either.

But despite my aversion to some things Sheryl Crow, these lyrics from "Soak Up The Sun" always resonate:

"It's not getting what you want,
It's wanting what you've got..."

I want what I've got. I like my four seasons of Michigan, cooking in my cluttered kitchen, taking long, hot showers to wipe out the cold and playing with my boys and the piggies. I like writing. I like cooking. I like teaching.

I really liked teaching today, even though I don't get to teach that particular class until tomorrow. One of my students just produced a brilliant essay. Despite a lot of things. And I'll leave it at that. But watching a kid finally "get" something is pure joy.

Babysitting our lovely little dog-down-the-street, Desta, was pure joy. Desta has got to be the most well-behaved doggy on the planet, and she lives to give kisses and to be petted and to snuggle up to you.

Fantasy Boy is a joy, and so are my lovely, far-flung daughters and Swimmer Boy.

So, okay, a cottage on the sugar sands of some Caribbean isle with pristine snorkeling and a private jet to move back and forth with little care on the weekends might be nice... but.

Guess I've got what I want. Happy Tuesday.

What's Cooking


Well, this is too funny, but I still didn't have that pesky leftover pork chili last night. DH and I went out to dinner at a wonderful Middle Eastern coffee shop instead (and A2 residents - GO to Stars Cafe for dinner! Amazing food and prices to match) but tonight was the pork chili and corn bread. And it was good. Still need to make those muffins.
7:47 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next