Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Liverwurst

2005-10-17
I'm still playing with the look of the blog and how I want things to run here.
I'm thinking today about the connections of food and childhood, how some smells or tastes can bring you back to a place and time.
Liverwurst.
Ugh, what a way to bring people into my memory bank, but I used to love liverwurst as a kid. As an adult, and one who needs to watch her cholesterol, weight, etc., on top of that, I had sworn off liverwurst. And some of you might feel that everyone should stay away from liverwurst in the first place, but to each her own!
Anyway, I was at Whole Foods this morning, and what do they have but some kind of free range turkey, no nitrites, nitrates or other "tes" bad thing, and it's lowfat, too.
So for lunch I had a liverwurst sandwich. And then I was curled up on the sailor cloth loveseat in my father's office with the sun streaming into the room through the open glass panes to the terrace, Mittens the cat sleeping at my feet and reading whatever book was my pick of the day. It was summer vacation, and the possibilities were endless. And I'd be leaving soon for camp, where I went from the nerdy crybaby to the creative, funny kid who had tons of friends.
Even liverwurst can have purpose in a well-balanced (or not so well-balanced) life. That's kind of a scary thought.
What's Cooking? crustless spinach quiche, maybe filo/apple bundles - look for my recipes section, coming soon.
2:05 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next