Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Killing Rampage

2005-11-05
They're everywhere.

Tiny little asian beetles that look like harmless, useful ladybugs, but are, in fact, acid-dropping, useless pests.

If they land on you and get panicky, they drop pools of acid on your skin. It feels like a cigarette burn for you unfortunates who have experienced such a thing.

They can crawl in your socks, up your sleeves, and they dive bomb the dinner table.

Did I mention that they're pests?

I don't know where they keep coming from. They seem to be accumulating near this one corner of one of the drape panels in the living room.

And so, for the past few days, I've been awakening to an ever-increasing hoard. And my day starts with killing.

I move the furniture, grab my trusty fly swatter, and smash, stomp and whip away. Carcasses fall to the ground like snowflakes. A smell of grass mixed with something acrid permeates the air.

And I wonder about karma.

I'm not a Buddhist, in fact, I'm not terribly spiritual at all, but this constant war against other living creatures is getting to me. And I wonder what all this killing is doing to my cosmic balance sheet.

But I'm keeping my table safe for dinner, and so, while there's an acid-dripping, dive-bombing critter left alive in my HOME, I will defend the homefires with my trusty swatter.

I hope the weather changes soon.

What's Cooking


I cooked *nothing* yesterday, as we were invited for a delightful dinner at our friends' house. They served a wonderful meal of a shrimp marenca kind of thing, kale, perfect rice and tasty salad, with one of the best apple pies I've ever tasted, for dessert. Yum. Tonight, I'm making chicken/potato hash from the leftovers from the Gang's dinner the other night.
7:08 a.m. :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next