Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Hot Fun in the Summertime...

2006-08-12
I realized that my family hasn't really had summer this year.

To remedy that, in part, we remembered that we really do live only 10 minutes away from a simply gorgeous, clear lake with a generous swimming area. It seemed like a good day to drive down the dusty roads between our house and said lake.

This was an "exercise" trip - no frills, no fuss. Bathing suits on and we sunblock-slathered at home.

Upon arrival, we carried our towels down to the lawn/beach front, and joined what felt like a holiday atmosphere, as families, organizations and friends gathered for a day of fun in the sun.

To say the weather was perfect was an understatement. It was probably 77 degrees, with open, blue skies.

Toddlers and parents played by the edge of the water, six-year-olds built sandcastles on the miniscule sandy area, and teens splashed each other by the far reaches of the swimming area.

DH, DS and I slid into the water in the ways that each of us do - DS by running in and dousing himself like a wet puppy, DH wading to waist height and not daring further for a good ten minutes or so, and I slid in between the two - acclimating after a minute, but sliding in, rather than thrashing.

I spent the next 35 minutes doing what I would term "water aerobics" - a combination of jogging, cycling and various armstrokes through the water. The exercise felt gentle and pure and soothed my sore foot. I wasn't sure I had enough of a "workout" but I came home and took an enormous nap, so it appears I did.

I think we'll try to do this more often - maybe even daily.

Many people brought elaborate picnics, reading material, sports equipment, etc., but we just came for the swim.

In, out, and watch the clouds.

And when I'm mourning summer come November, I can hold onto today and remember that summer was, indeed, here.

Nothing cooking... I really was so dragged out that I didn't feel like dinner. The boys made a pasta/pea/parmesan thing that looked pretty good. I think today was my day to collapse.

8:30 p.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next