Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Lady Always Waiting

2005-10-28
Waiting for Guitar

I spend a lot of my life waiting. This is part of my job description, so to speak.

The job description I speak of is being the support mechanism for my son and husband. My son schools at home, therefore I want him out of the house and around other people, therefore I sign him up for things outside the house and with other people, therefore, since he's too young to drive I take him places, therefore, I wait.

I am at the library now, waiting while he plays blues and other duets with his guitar teacher.

And it's my time, so to speak. I can do a variety of things with this half-hour. One thing I did today was to get a variety of cookbooks to read.

I'm finding that in order to be creative in my cooking, I'm reading dozens and dozens of cookbooks, trying to pick up the techniques of the various chefs. It's pretty interesting stuff, but I think I have to go back to reading literature soon. You know, there just aren't enough stories in most cookbooks.

I was sick over the past week and didn't find the time to post here, but I'm hoping to change that and start daily or every-other-daily posting.

Cheers!

What's cooking

I still haven't figured out the recipe problem. I'm going to e-mail Andrew today for help. But the Gang is coming for dinner today, so here's what's cooking or cooked: modifications on two recipes by Rachael Ray - Cheddar Crusted Chicken and "Smooshy" Applesauce, a modified weightwatchers coleslaw, and good old Ghirardelli brownies. I decided it was a good day for a very kid-friendly meal.

1:42 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next