Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Challenges

2005-10-31
I'm part of a Weight Watchers group. Not the type of group that meets in a shopping mall and you have a public weigh-in, and some successful former fatty leads you in discussions of how and why to lose weight and get healthier; but a virtual group, online.

Except it's not so virtual, because many of us actually met each other at a "Union" this summer in South Bend, Indiana, and are planning a trip to Disneyland together for this spring.

And we have each other's phone numbers and addresses and everything. And we've been together for a year today. And collectively, we've lost at least 250 lbs., probably closer to 400.

We are having a "challenge" right now, based on "The Biggest Loser" TV series. I watched "The Biggest Loser" exactly once. I don't find it inspiring, and I'm worried that the extreme exercise and diet routines will be hard for those folks to keep up in the long run. I'm worried about their permanently screwing up their metabolisms. OTOH, if they get healthier in the process, then I'm all for it.

What we are doing, is that we're in teams and we're keeping daily and weekly stats and we get points based on how well we're doing to stick to the Weight Watchers program. A wonderful math teacher in my group, Suz, is doing the Herculean task of keeping track of all our stats, and it really is more of a support thing than a competition. But those days when everyone on your team is doing less well than we all want to, it's still frustrating.

This has been a good challenge. I was getting bored with the program, and doing this challenge has shaken me up and gotten me going again.

I have another challenge going on. That challenge is to finish Changeling. I've been working on it for two solid years now and still haven't made the first draft.

I feel like Sisyphus, because each 1000 words that I write shows me where I have revisions to make to fix plot problems, so then I'm yet another 1000 words from where I think I should be and the end is that many words farther away. Does this make any sense?

Anyway, this is NOT a good challenge. It's just frustrating.

And yet... Maybe by taking my time, the plot will be better-crafted in the end. Maybe the next set of revisions won't take as long. And yes, you should just throw words down in that first draft, but the problem is PLOTTING.

So, the plot thickens, teeheehee.

What's Cooking


Are you kidding? It's Halloween! We're off to Subway for dinner and then I'll walk about with Roranora Zolo (AKA Con) while he does what may be his last year of trick or treating.
3:36 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next