Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

A Bad Day

2005-12-07
This was not a tragic day.

One friend recently marked the 15th birthday of the daughter who didn't survive and another buried her father. Those were tragic days.

This was one of those plain, old bad days. Comically bad days.

It started out when Fantasy Boy and I had twin dentist appointments this morning and had to be there by 8:00. Now, this is convenient for homeschooling, but not for slug-a-beds, which meant we were both moving slowly, and then found out that my DH, for some reason, had blocked the entrance to the garage and I couldn't get out, so that made us "late". So, risky me, I went a whopping 32 miles an hour in a 25 mile zone and got a speeding ticket. From the s-l-o-w-e-s-t policewoman in the force.

So we were late to our very nice dentist and started their day off badly. And, of course, I felt badly, too. (And much poorer, due to the speeding ticket).

We finally got home and laid out the various forms of warm weather clothes that Fantasy Boy would need for bellringing for a service project for boyscouts. Then he started work. Then he got a migraine. So much for bellringing.

So, Fantasy Boy worked on comparing Benedick and Beatrice's relationship to that of Claudio and Hero, and I worked on trying to catch up to everything I'm behind on (read:EVERYTHING).

After a day of 6 loads of laundry, bill-paying, planning and correcting for the Lit Class, getting caught up on correspondence and continuing to try to unbury the house, I started a dinner of pork chops, baked potatoes and sauteed zucchini.

I fired up my Vikingware grill pan on my range top, stuck the potatoes in the toaster oven, and went down to transfer the latest loads of laundry.

As I was carrying up the current load, I heard a BAM! from my right as I came up the kitchen stairs. And there it was, my 1970s glass range cooktop, in shards all over my kitchen. The damned thing had exploded. I called out to Fantasy Boy that dinner plans had changed (Oh, and did I mention that DH is out of town this week?)

So, we jumped in the car at 6:30 and hit the trusty local appliance mart. I found what I was looking for, but the install may be a problem, so I may be without a cook top for a couple of weeks.

Off we went to Whole Foods for dinner. (See my comments last week on excess, lol).

And we returned home, only to have me realize that I hadn't washed my brand new, razor sharp hollow-blade knife. So I did. And I sliced my thumb open. Deeply. I stemmed the bleeding, but it keeps breaking open, so stitches may be in the offing for today.

Yup, yesterday was a bad day.

What's Cooking


Well, given my current situation... not much, I guess! I think I've found a resolution to the recipe posting thing, so I'm going to try to get to that while I wait for my kitchen to turn back into a kitchen again. Yikes.
6:51 a.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next