Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Fran and Apple Yum

2006-02-19
We're having Apple Yum tonight.

Well, it's not actually Apple Yum, it's Betty Jane's Aunt Ruth's Sour Cream Apple Pie via Fran, my mother-in-law. Apple Yum is the pie without the pie crust and a little bit more calorie-friendly. The pie is my husband's absolute favorite. And it's become a family tradition.

I'm so grateful that it has.

Dave talked for years about his mother's famous Sour Cream Apple Pie.

Each of Fran's three boys had their favorite dessert. For S, the oldest, it was pecan pie.

And I must say, her pecan pie is the best I've ever tasted.

For J, the youngest, it was her Christmas Buche du Noel. Covered with a layer of thick fudgy frosting, and accompanied by delicate, meringue mushrooms, it would give any sugar addict an absolute rush.

But for D, it's always been that apple pie. And we'd never had it until very recently, even though D and I have been married for sixteen years and together for 18.

My mother-in-law is wonderful. There are all those mother-in-law jokes, and folks who complain about their in-laws.

Not me.

Fran is loving, kind, witty, clever and has a million talents. She's one of the smartest women I know.

At first, I think we didn't have the apple pie because she was busy - doing a million things - her quilting group, volunteering at the church, bridge, puzzles of all kinds, her gorgeous artwork through her quilts, and providing for her endless stream of children, grandchildren, friend's children and grandchildren, nieces, nephews, etc., etc.

At Fran's table I did have that superb pecan pie, the best turkey and stuffing, wonderful chicken with parmesan, amazing spinach noodle soup and many other culinary delights that Fran seemed to throw together effortlessly.

Dave brought up the apple pie, but it was never quite the right season, quite the right time, and maybe she'd misplaced the recipe.

For all of Fran's wonderful qualities, organization was not the highest on the list.

But as the years wore on, too, Fran's forgetfulness turned into something more. And the days at Fran's table ended. And the home that she ran for 40 plus years was exchanged for life in a retirement community. And now her days are spent being cared for by her loving husband Gerry, in exchange for the many years that she cared for him.

And so D and J were helping to clean out cabinets the last time they were visiting their parents, and lo and behold - the recipe was found!

And so, it was everything D said it was. It's perfection personified.

Just like Fran.

And I miss her. And I miss conversations with her. And I'm sad that she couldn't be more part of her grandson's life.

And every time I make Apple Yum, a little part of Fran is with me. In the kitchen. At the table.

So maybe the reason Apple Yum tastes so good is that I visit Fran every time.

What's Cooking?


Well, Apple Yum! And florentine meatballs and pasta with sauce and... salad, I think. Happy Sunday.
5:01 p.m. :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next