Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Quiet

2005-11-30
There have been many kinds of quiet during the week-plus that I've been absent.

The nicest, by far, was the quiet of snow drifting down on the day before Thanksgiving. H., A., C., and my mother and I spent the day lounging about, staying warm, wearing old clothes and drinking hot chocolate. The girls occasionally went outside to take photos, I occasionally went into the kitchen and cooked something for the next day, and my mother stayed put with a magazine.

There was the quiet of my shutting myself off with a book on Saturday, when I really, really needed some time without people - even people I loved.

But there's nothing quite like the quiet of tonight. I loved having all the wonderful company, but things are back to "normal", whatever that is. Each member of the family actually has clean underwear again, and we ate a dinner that had no turkey products in it (although we did have cranberry fluff for dessert).

I'm listening to D. and C. argue, as they usually do on garbage night. After I finish this and catch up with reading some great blogs (see my buddy list, as well as www.laundryvixen.blogspot.com) I will pick up the guinea pigs for some cuddle time.

Yup, back to normal is good.

What's Cooking


I'm actually a little burned out on cooking right now - still have to go over my Thanksgiving menu at some point, but I did make sausage/apple/cheese hash and the cranberry fluff.
6:58 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next