Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

There are Idiots in Michigan

2006-08-21
Too.

Right?

But why is it that there seem to be a greater percentage of them in NYC, and they all seem to be involved in my mother's health care?

I swear, if she lived here she wouldn't wait 8 hours for a delivery from our local (and very reliable) pharmacy.

She wouldn't have a "visiting nurse" who refused to bring an epsom salts bucket over to my 82-year-old, pelvic-fractured mother because it's "not part of my job." And this was the woman who showed up two hours late which meant my mom couldn't get to her pharmacy and was left to the mercy of said pharmacy's delivery system.

And when my mom mentioned that these services weren't really "helping," said woman sneered that if my mom wanted her pt services (and she does) then she HAS to have a visiting nurse.

And I wonder if a doctor here (even though her own doctor is positively excellent) would say, "I try never to have my patients go to a hospital."

And no, he wasn't saying that just because he's a great advocate for preventative care (he is), but because he's just disappointed with the level of health care in NYC hospitals.

He feels there are too many things that can go wrong.

And yes, I'm sure all this can happen in Michigan.

But would it?

Cooking?

Multigrain blueberry muffins. They were a big hit with Japanese daughter, American son and American son's new friend and new friend's mother.

8:47 p.m. :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next