Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

The Kids

2005-12-02
Okay, I'm off my Soapbox.

I just had to get it out of my system.

I just read forty-plus's blog entry for the day. It made me really happy.

It made me really happy because this is a mother who makes time for her kids and supports other kids and gets indignant about kids not being supported by their families. I read a similar entry by Alleged Wife a while ago. And that made me happy, too.

Ugh... I feel a soapbox coming on again.

So, I'm going to stop there. But I'm happy because I have a great, kind-hearted kid who used to have a lot of issues, but he's really, really growing out of them. And a lot of this has been about his learning to talk about his feelings. And he's so darned happy now. And I'm so proud of him.

Talking to your kids can be one of the great joys in life.

It's even better than cooking. Better than writing. Better than most things I can come up with.

So here's to you, Fantasy Boy, and surrogate kids Diplomat Girl, Happy Girl, Artist Girl, Fashionista, Dancing Queen and Water Polo Guy! You make my life full and my heart sing. Cheers!

What's Cooking


Don't rightly know. It's clean out the fridge day, so I'm sure something will spring to mind.
11:57 a.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next