Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

A Mathematical Breakfast

2006-03-23
There's something inherently wrong about having croissants with algebra.

I've been in a Parisian mindset lately, and have heated a Costco croissant (excellent, btw) and made myself a black, black cup of cafe espress, like in Paris, and allowed my senses to take me away in the mornings. It's even weight watchers friendly, if I watch points elsewhere.

But croissants and coffee should be enjoyed with Proust (yeah, I know madeleines) or at least Wilde or something equally, appropriately liberal arts-ish and the type of thing that you could read sitting outside on a warm day at a Paris cafe.

Reading the Princeton Review Guide to the ACT, is probably not on the list.

Now, I have to say, that at least the Princeton Review guides have some humor. Some panache. They are infinitely better than the Barron's drivel from my day.

But still.

So, as to why I'm reading the Princeton Review Guide to the ACT, this has a lot to do with choices for high school for homeschooling, Fantasy Boy's ever-growing needs academically, etc.

And the worst part, is, I'm kind of finding the math section interesting. Mostly, because I think I skipped math in high school. Oh, I sat there physically, and I passed the tests, mostly, because I was good at passing tests, but golldarnit, I just was out to lunch. And I really, really didn't care.

Because mathematics would never be part of my life. Ever. Not if I could help it.

So, then I became an elementary teacher and had to pass math exams, etc., to do so. And I found that math was fun, actually.

But now, as my 12-year-old can dance circles around me mathematically, my ego and brain are taking a bruising.

So penance is a croissant with the Princeton Review.

There are far, far worse things in life.

Just for Fun:




You Passed 8th Grade Math



Congratulations, you got 9/10 correct!

Could You Pass 8th Grade Math?


What's Cooking


Three bean pork chili and cornbread. Both ww. They really have some good ww recipes. Don't feel deprived at all, except when I do, lol. The best part is that the chili is out of the freezer, so I have a delicious meal AND no cooking for tonight. Finestkind!
7:50 a.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next