Jen's Word Stew
A Melange of Words and Recipes

Writing the 250

2006-05-20
You know, some days, writing is what you make of it.

Each morning, on my to do list, is "write the 250" - a concept that my friend Charity started, and it's been very good for my writing. She's an extraordinary writer, and you can get a taste of her writing at:

ctahmase.diaryland.com (sorry about my lack of ability to get links to work!

Anyway, Charity's idea is that anyone who writes can write 250 words a day on a WIP (work-in-progress).

And it's gotten me off my butt in a most positive way.

But sometimes writing takes a different form.

Today, for example, I was up at 4:30 because I was awake, you know? And I was awake because I'm in the middle of grade reports and grading exams and final projects and it's something I take seriously and it takes a lot of time and my brain was just whirring into action, even if my body was still clinging to the bed.

My brain won out.

So, much of today I have been commenting on new talent - raw talent - in the form of exam essays and mystery short stories, which my gifted students have poured their hearts into.

And they've all grown tremendously, so my heart is poured into them, as well.

But I'm finally finished for the day, and then I turned to my to do list. On Saturdays, it's short:

Read mats for next week - check!

Bills - I can do that tonight...

Write the 250 - er, no.

Not tonight. Never mind that it's usually the first thing I do in the morning. The real issue here is that I've been fashioning careful, sensitive prose all day, and my sensitive prose gene is worn to shreds.
So, instead, you listen to me babble on here.

Have I written 250 yet?

8:12 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next